$20.92 to keep me moving Monday through Friday this week.  This is the average amount of a CalFresh benefit in San Diego.  The first thing I lose is my daily latte at Starbucks.  Sure. Duh. This is without question a luxury item.  I’m embarrassed to say that if I splurged just one day, I would be down $6 already.  Second thing to go is my weekly happy hour with friends.  I mean I could go and probably get a diet coke, I guess.

Ok, enough of my silly extravagances for now.  Let’s get to the shopping!  What did I get?

20170508_200128

Food (please disregard that thumb!)!!!

I decided to start small and allow myself some flexibility at the end of the week.

Dannon Light and Fit (Peach 4 pack) Yogurt – $2.79

Pasta (17.6 oz) – 3.59

3 Red Delicious Apples – $1.89

Loaf of Whole Wheat Bread – $3.69

1 Can of Sweet Peas – $.89 (SALE)

1 Can of Green Beans – $.89 (SALE)

Smoked Turkey Deli Meat (9 0z) – $2.29

Not pictured:

1 Jar of Pasta Sauce – $2.16

Total:  $18.19

Not much wiggle room.  I was hoping to get some chicken to throw in the pasta a few days.  Sigh.  #CalFreshChallenge